Berlinale: NATIVe


NATIVe – A JOURNEY INTO INDIGENOUS CINEMA

The NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema special series has been part of the Berlinale since 2013. It is dedicated to the cinematic storytelling of Indigenous peoples from around the world with a focus on a different region every two years.

With NATIVe, the Berlinale brings Indigenous cinema to the centre of the international film world and emphasises its relevance beyond regional, political and cultural borders. NATIVe sees itself as a platform for the diverse voices of Indigenous filmmaking and presents milestones as well as new productions coming out of this film scene.

The NATIVe programme consists of around 20 short and feature-length fiction and documentary films from various production years. It is curated by Maryanne Redpath. NATIVe is advised by a changing international team comprising filmmakers and film experts from the respective regions who are active in those Indigenous communities and familiar with the conditions of production there. During the Berlinale, these advisors discuss with the filmmakers and audiences backgrounds and materials of Indigenous cinema and its players. The programme is complemented by interdisciplinary events and industry talks, both of which aim to strengthen the international profile of Indigenous filmmaking.

NATIVe celebrated its premiere edition in 2013 with 24 films from Oceania, Australia and North America. In 2015, with a total of 18 films, the focus was on Latin America. In 2017 NATIVe screened 19 films from the Arctic which, in their diversity of forms, narratives and subject matters offered a view of much more than just the tip of the iceberg. In 2019 the focus will be on the countries and islands in and around the Pacific Ocean. In the bridging years, a smaller film programme bids goodbye to the previous region and offers a glimpse of the region that will be coming into focus.

Alethea Arnaquq-Baril | Inuk, Canada | Filmmaker, Producer; Liisa Holmberg | Sámi, Finland | Rector of Sámi Education Institute, Inari; Andrew Okpeaha MacLean | Iñupiaq, USA | Filmmaker, Assistant Arts Professor, Tisch School of the Arts, New York University

Emile Hertling Péronard | Greenlandic / Danish, Denmark | Producer, Advisor, FILM.GL Board Member; Bird Runningwater | Cheyenne / Mescalero Apache, USA | Director, Native American and Indigenous Program, Sundance Institute; Jason Ryle | Anishinaabe / Saulteaux, Canada | Artistic Director, imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival, Toronto

Sardana Savvina | Republic Sakha (Yakutia) / Russian Federation | Producer; Anne Lajla Utsi | Sámi, Norway | Managing Director, International Sámi Film Institute, Kautokeino; Aleksei Vakhrushev | Yupik, Russian Federation | Director, Producer

Together with international partner institutions, the NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema special series runs the NATIVe stand at the European Film Market. It offers an insight into current Indigenous filmmaking and a base for Indigenous filmmakers to present their latest projects to the international market. Selected Indigenous filmmaking talents are introduced to the film market as “NATIVe Producer Fellows” with a structured mentoring programme to help them place their current feature-length film projects.

Contact

phone +49 30 25920-218

Berlinale: NATIVe


NATIVe – A JOURNEY INTO INDIGENOUS CINEMA

Mit der Sonderreihe NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema holt die Berlinale den indigenen Film ins Zentrum der internationalen Filmwelt und betont dessen Relevanz über regionale, politische und kulturelle Grenzen hinweg. NATIVe versteht sich als Plattform der vielfältigen Stimmen des indigenen Filmschaffens und präsentiert Meilensteine wie Neuproduktionen aus dieser Filmszene.

Das NATIVe-Programm setzt sich aus rund 20 kurzen und langen Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmen unterschiedlicher Produktionsjahre zusammen. Es wird von Maryanne Redpath und Anna Kalbhenn kuratiert. Beraten wird NATIVe von einem wechselnden, internationalen Team aus Filmschaffenden und Filmexpert*innen aus den jeweiligen Regionen, welche in den indigenen Communities aktiv und mit den dortigen Produktionsbedingungen vertraut sind. Während der Berlinale diskutieren diese Berater*innen gemeinsam mit den Filmemacher*innen und dem Publikum über Hintergründe, Stoffe und Akteure des indigenen Kinos. Zusätzlich finden interdisziplinäre Veranstaltungen und Branchengespräche statt, mit dem Ziel, die internationale Sichtbarkeit indigenen Filmschaffens zu stärken.

2013 feierte NATIVe mit 24 Filmen aus Ozeanien, Australien und Nordamerika Premiere. 2015 stand Lateinamerika mit 18 Filmen im Mittelpunkt. 2017 zeigte NATIVe 19 Filme aus der Arktis, die in ihren vielfältigen Formen, Narrationen und Themen mehr als die Spitze des Eisbergs sehen ließen. 2019 werden die Länder und Inseln am und im Pazifischen Ozean im Fokus stehen. In den Brückenjahren wird mit einem kleineren Filmprogramm die vorangegangene Region verabschiedet und ein Ausblick auf die kommende Region geboten.

Kamila Andini | Indonesien | Filmemacherin; Kanakan-Balintagos | Palawan, Philippinen | Filmemacher; Eliorah Malifa | Samoa, Australien | Co-Director Pasifika Film Fest

Bird Runningwater | Cheyenne, Mescalero Apache | USA | Director, Indigenous Program, Sundance Institute; Jason Ryle | Anishinaabe, Saulteaux, Kanada | Artistic & Managing Director imagineNATIVE, Toronto

Gemeinsam mit internationalen Partnerinstitutionen betreibt die Sonderreihe NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema den NATIVe-Stand auf dem European Film Market. Dieser ist Schaufenster aktuellen indigenen Filmschaffens und ein Ausgangspunkt für indigene Filmemacher*innen, um ihre neusten Projekte auf dem internationalen Markt zu präsentieren. Ausgewählte indigene Filmtalente werden als „NATIVe Producer Fellows“ mit einem strukturierten Mentoringprogramm in den Filmmarkt eingeführt, um dort ihr aktuelles Langfilmprojekt zu platzieren.